Château Pape Clément Grand Cru Classé Pessac-Léognan 2001

Château Pape Clément Grand Cru Classé Pessac-Léognan 2001

Château Pape Clément Grand Cru Classé Pessac-Léognan 2001 

The traditionalism side from a wine is not a flaw to me, it’s even something I’m looking for in a wine when I want to cellar an age worthy bottle or simply to enjoy, as I like the style! That’s where Bordeaux wines or Bordeaux blend styles wines (as some Californian or Italian wines do) comes in handy since they are some of my favorites.

Glad I was when, at a lunch with wine geek friends, I was faced to this blog post wine. Tasted blind at first, did well identifying the Bordeaux blend, which I liked as explained earlier. Here is my tasting note:

Dark cherry color. Nose of old wood, spices, dark berries, earth, so fine and classy. With air the Bordeaux origin does show more. On the palate there is no doubt that this is a Bordeaux blend type of wine with some minerality, finesse all the way, deep and long, the luxurious oak ageing still showing without being heavy. Also had flavors of black berries, spices and slightly bitter green bell pepper notes. Very long finish. I was aiming at a Bordeaux blend from Tuscany. Excellent+ (92)

Made of 56% Cabernet Sauvignon, 40% Merlot, 4% Cabernet Franc. Aged 18 months in oak barrels. Alcohol level of 13%

This 2001 is not available anymore in SAQ stores, but here is a link to what’s left of other vintages of that wine: Pape Clément wines availability

The Château Pape Clément is a property of Bernard Magrez: bernard-magrez.com

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Château Pape Clément Grand Cru Classé Pessac-Léognan 2001

Château Pape Clément Grand Cru Classé Pessac-Léognan 2001

Château Pape Clément Grand Cru Classé Pessac-Léognan 2001 

Le classicisme côté vin n’est pas selon moi un défaut, c’est même une qualité que je recherche à l’occasion, que ce soit pour sélectionner un produit à mettre en cave ou tout simplement car je sais que j’aime ce style! Et dans ce genre, les vins de Bordeaux ou d’assemblage à la bordelaise (comme certains vins californien ou d’Italie) occupent une belle place dans mes préférences.

C’est donc avec plaisir que je fut mis devant ce vin lors d’un dîner entre amis de vin. Le vin a été goûté initialement à l’aveugle, j’ai bien identifié le style assemblage bordelais, ce que j’ai bien apprécié et ça se traduit dans mes notes suivantes:

Couleur cerise noire. Arômes de vieux bois, d’épices, de baies noires, de terre avec de la finesse et de la classe. Tranquillement l’aspect bordelais ressort au nez. Moins de doute en bouche avec une belle minéralité et de la finesse, c’est complexe et long, l’élevage luxueux parait mais sans lourdeur avec du fruit noir, des notes épicées et de poivron vert légèrement amer. Longue finale. J’étais sur un assemblage bordelais d’Italie. Excellent+ (92)

Composé de 56% Cabernet Sauvignon, 40% Merlot, 4% Cabernet Franc. Élevage de 18 mois en barriques de chêne. Fait 13% d’alcool.

Ce 2001 n’est plus disponible à la SAQ, mais voici un lien vers les vins de ce Château qui le sont: Disponibilités des vins de Pape Clément

Le Château Pape Clément est une propriété de Bernard Magrez: bernard-magrez.com

0 réponses

Répondre

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *