Château Smith Haut-Lafitte Grand Cru Graves 1979

Moi et les vieux vins

My taste for mature wines…

In the “world” of wine, everyone would like to taste everything, others are aiming at cellaring great bottles for special occasion as anniversaries and birth years. But the question these person should ask themsaelves is; do they like mature wines? Why invest money in these bottles for longer cellaring time if the result doesn’t fulfil them? One should know that older wines have almost nothing in common with youger one available on our monopoly’s shelves!

Along the years, I had the oppotunity to open botlles of mature wines and confirm the fact that I like that style, the taste and the history behind them. That is one of the reasons why when I travel in the United States a part of my “wine buying” is done with older wines.

And as I do almost every year at the end of summer / beginning of fall season, I open with my family a bottle of wine from the vintage of my birth year, 1979. That’s exactly what I did only few days ago. Here are my comments about the wine:

Château Smith Haut-Lafitte Grand Cru Classé Graves 1979

Château Smith Haut-Lafitte Grand Cru Classé Graves 1979

The bottle is in great shape and looks like it was well preserved, its appearance not betraying its age and the label isn’t damaged. The bottle fill level is perfect. After a really short time and no particular effort, the cork came out in one piece.

The wine is orange-brownish brick color. Really shy at first, the wine took at least 30 minutes before showing aromas of old wood, tobacco, fall leaves and dry fruits notes. Being on the same flavor profile, the wine shows its elegance and finesse on the palate, with a long finish and a medium adicity level which I liked since that type of wine often have high and sometimes even an anoying acidity level. Paired with our smiles, we did enjoyed a lot this bottle, fulfilling our expectations that were, let’s say, pretty low, which helped the moment being even more appreciated. Can’t wait for the next bottle of mature wine to be opened! Excellent (91)

Château Smith Haut-Lafitte Grand Cru Classé Graves 1979

The wine becomes orange-brown as it age

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Château Smith Haut-Lafitte Grand Cru Graves 1979

Moi et les vieux vins

Moi et les vieux vins…

Ah le monde du vin. Tout le monde veut goûter à tout, d’autres veulent faire vieillir du vin pour les occasions spéciales, un anniversaire ou pour souligner une année de naissance. Mais la vrai question est la suivante; aimez-vous les vieux vins? Pourquoi investir dans l’achat de ces flacons réservés pour la longue garde si vous n’aimez pas le résultat? Sachez que les vieux vins ont des arômes et des saveurs bien différents des vins tout jeune disponibles sur les tablettes de notre monopole!

J’ai pu au fil des ans, ouvrir plusieurs bouteilles vins « mature » et ainsi confirmer mon appréciation pour ces derniers. C’est aussi ce qui explique qu’une part de mes achats faits lors de voyages aux États-Unis par exemple est centrée sur l’acquisition de bouteilles de vins matures.

Comme je le fais presqu’à chaque fin d’été et/ou début d’automne, j’ouvre en famille une bouteille de mon année de naissance, des vins du millésime 1979. C’est exactement qui vient tout juste d’arriver. Voici mes commentaires sur le vin en question:

Château Smith Haut-Lafitte Grand Cru Classé Graves 1979

Château Smith Haut-Lafitte Grand Cru Classé Graves 1979

La bouteille semble avoir été bien conservée, son aspect visuel ne trahissant pas son âge et l’étiquette est en bon état. Le niveau du vin est parfait. Après seulement un bref effort, le bouchon de liège a pu être extrait assez aisément et d’un seul tenant.

Couleur orangé et brunâtre. Initialement très timide, le vin a mis au moins une trentaine de minute avant d’exprimer des arômes de vieux bois, de tabac, de feuilles d’automne, d’épices fines et de fruits séchés. Étant sur le même registre de saveurs, le vin se montre tout en élégance en bouche avec de la finesse, de la longueur accompagnée d’un niveau d’acidité moyen, un facteur que j’ai beaucoup aimé puisque ces vins matures ont d’usage une acidité très présente, voire dérangeante. Accompagné du sourire des convives réunis autour de cette bouteille, le vin a amplement comblé les attentes qui n’étaient pas très élevés en nous procurant un beau moment. Bien hâte à mon prochain rendez-vous avec un vin de cette âge! Excellent (91)

Château Smith Haut-Lafitte Grand Cru Classé Graves 1979

Le vin prend avec l’âge une couleur brunâtre et orangée

0 réponses

Répondre

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *